h1

Business Cards from DigitalRoom.com

September 2, 2009

Contest closed. Ann from Little Four Eyes and Emi from The Cloth Diaper Report won!

OK, seriously? Who doesn’t need business cards?

Everyone has business cards these days – obviously anyone who works in an office has one; your hairdresser has one; your doctor’s office probably writes your next appointment time on the back of one; even the Etsy and WAHMs I deal with have one!

But guess what. I don’t have a business card. I’ve never had a business card with my name on it, even when I was the Assistant Regional Production Manager at the newspaper (although I DID get my own email address for that job).

Well, along comes DigitalRoom.com with their business cards. I hopped over to their page to see about making myself some business cards for my graphic design work – just something to have to give people so they might remember me. Little did I know, business cards aren’t a standard 2″ x 3.5″ anymore. You can get different business card sizes, including 2×2, 2×3 and the normal 2×3.5. I’ve never seen business cards done in smaller sizes before, and I would be interested in seeing them! They also do custom sizes by 1/4″ increments from 2″ and up.

I HAVE seen die cut business cards before though, usually with rounded corners. DigitalRoom.com has rounded corners, 1 rounded corner, half circle side, circle and leaf shaped corners. Talk about making your business cards stand out!

Personally, I’m going to design my own unique business cards, so I don’t need the rounded corners (we might get that on my husband’s busines cards though). Instead, I’ll look at my other available options. I can choose to have a full color design on the front AND on the back, full color on the front and black & white on the back, or full color on the front and a black backside. As a graphic artist, I think I’d need to be shot if I didn’t take full advantage of full color on both sides of my business cards!

Now I just need to come up with my design. When I’m done, I can upload it, and receive a free proof (BONUS!). For people who aren’t graphic designers, DigitalRoom.com has U-Design, a free online design tool. You can browse through 104 different templates to use for your business card, or create your own using the U-Design tool. Once you choose a template, you can customize the business card so it’s just the way you want it. For the back of your business card, you can choose to leave it blank, put in appointment information (like the doctor’s office mentioned above), or put in a yearly calendar! I never thought of putting a yearly calendar on a business card before, but that would sure be handy! I know I would keep a person’s business card in my wallet just for the calendar!

So now I’ve uploaded my custom design, and you’ve picked your template and customized it. Do you know what the best thing is about DigitalRoom.com? They are an environmentally friendly company! They use soy/vegetable based inks and recycled paper. They recycle all of their scraps. And they use a special coating on most of their products to help improve bio-degradability.

DR_Logo

I lied. Being environmentally friendly is not the best thing about DigitalRoom.com, but it’s pretty high up there. The BEST thing is that they are giving 2 of my readers 500 free business cards! And I’m going to make it easy for you to enter.

All of the following steps MUST be done to enter, but only 1 comment is required:

  • Follow me, @nicolemarr on Twitter.
  • Follow @uprinting on Twitter (they run Digital Room)
  • Leave a comment here telling me how you would do your own business cards – Would you design your own and upload it? Would you use the U-Design tool to create your own design? Or would you use one of the templates on U-Design? I will give you 1 bonus entry if you tell me which template design you like the most!

Not required to enter the contest, but definitely appreciated, would you mind tweeting your entry?

Now the details: Two (2) winners. Contest only open to US shipping addresses. Winners must pay for shipping (approx. $10). Contest closes September 10, 2009 at 11:59 pm MST. Winners will be notified by email (so make sure you leave one)!

9 comments

  1. I follow you and uprinting on Twitter. I woule design my own with my icons and make it just how I’d like it to use to promote my blog.

    I would probably choose the “Budding Greens” template if I picked a prefab one.


  2. I’m following both you and Uprinting on Twitter (@magicdandelions)

    I would upload my design. :)

    Love that they do rounded corners. I ordered some a while back with rounded corners, and even though it’s a small difference, it really does make a big impact. :)


  3. If I went with a template, it would be the Rise and Shine one. Very cute.


  4. i follow you both on twitter @chedgar
    i would upload my design, when ever I get my logo finished/started


  5. I would upload my logo and make my business cards match my new website face lift. I would turn my business cards in to coupons to give back to my customers :)


  6. following you and uprinting (as @littlefoureyes). I think I would design my own using some of the little four eyes images and use it to promote the blog.


  7. I would upload my logo and then add the rest on the site!


  8. I followed you and uprinting on twitter.
    I would upload my own designs and use the 1/2 circle dye cut… they would also make nice hang tags


  9. Check, Check, and I would give the cards to my mom for her photography business since I am a SAHM, and she’d probably upload her own design.



Comments are closed.

