h1

Most Informative Breastfeeding Resources

August 1, 2009

In celebration of World Breastfeeding Week, I am rounding up the most useful breastfeeding information I have found. This is real information, not the canned stuff you find in parenting books.

For example, the doctor tells you that those Exorcist-like breastmilk vomits are fine, but you just aren’t sure? My doctor weighed Penny pre-feed, post-feed, and post-spitup. Turns out she only spits up about an ounce when that happens, and was eating about 3 ounces at that time. Now do you feel a little better? A little bit less worried about when your baby spits up their entire meal? That’s the kind of advice I’m collecting here. If you know of any websites or blog posts that were invaluable to you, please add them in the comments.

Read on for more real information about common breastfeeding questions and problems.

Is my baby getting enough to eat?

Amber at Strocel.com addresses this common question about breastfed babies here. Her post is easy to follow and has more than the usual “how many wet diapers are you getting” advice. It even addresses when your breastfed baby goes for days without a bowel movement, which I never thought of, but completely makes sense.
I love reading Amber’s blog, considering she’s a fellow Canadian, intelligent and inquisitive, and writes about interesting things like mat leave. Go check her out, and add her to your reader.

The Dreaded Mastitis!

Not everyone woman will get it, although you’ve probably had the plugged ducts that lead up to it. Apparently mastitis is quite the painful infection – I’ve never had it personally. If you have this breast infection, or might be leading up to it, head over to the Mommy News Blog for advice on how to combat it.

How Do You Hand Express?

Watch Stanford School of Medicine’s Hand Expression of Breastmilk video. Every breastfeeding mother should know how to hand-express without the use of costly pumps. I admit I can’t do it myself, but I can’t get much of anything from a pump either. Hand-expression is a lost art form, and the video at this link teaches how to incorporate expressing into your routine.

My Doctor Gave Me a Prescription. Can I Take It?

I can’t answer that for you. But Motherisk, based out of the Toronto Sick Kids Hospital, has a resourceful website about prescriptions while breastfeeding. And if you can’t find what you need, call their direct line and they’ll help you out. I had to call to ask about some antibiotic I was prescribed, which the pharmacist said I couldn’t breastfeed while I was on. When I talked to Motherisk, they look up the dosage and see how much would filter through to the baby. My prescription was ok (and if I ever remember the name of it, I’ll let you all know).

My Baby Bites My Nipples!

Melodie at BreastfeedingMomsUnite.com wrote Biting The Breast That Feeds Her

Biting is a concern I often hear expressed by new moms, moms-to-be or women who don’t have children. Especially when you talk about breastfeeding past six months. “Doesn’t she bite you?” “I don’t plan on breastfeeding once he gets teeth.” Many babies never bite and if your baby does it is usually pretty simple to fix. Furthermore, when a baby is biting he is not nursing. [read more]

Melodie is a wealth of information on breastfeeding and I strongly urge you to head over to her blog and read up on everything you can.

Combatting Pressure to Wean Your Child

How long should you breastfeed? The magic number is 6 months minimum, from the WHO. Beyond 6 months, it is up to you and your child, but obviously as long as you both can handle/want/enjoy it. When you breastfeed beyond 6 months (and sometimes before), people start asking when you’re going to wean. Dagmar from DagmarBleasdale.com sent me some information recently about when people pressure you to wean your child.

Here are a few articles I wrote that should give you plenty of ammunition for the people who want to discourage you to keep breastfeeding. There are so many advantages for you and your baby. Plus, who cares what other people think. They’ll get over it, trust me. And they’ll forget all about being weird about it in the future.”
Health Benefits for Mothers Who Breastfeed
Study Finds Benefits for Breastfeeding Moms
Back to Breastfeeding

Dagmar is a wonderful breastfeeding resource, not only for statistics and research, but for the day-to-day side of breastfeeding.

Other Useful Resources

I asked other moms what the most useful breastfeeding resource was they found online. I was told:

  • Kellymom.com is apparently the go-to resource on breastfeeding. I personally didn’t use it because I didn’t like the layout of the site and found it to be too distracting. But it’s where everyone else told me to go to.
  • A Mother’s Boutique’s Breastfeeding Tips for New Mothers
  • Dr. Jack Newman at the Newman Breastfeeding Clinic & Institute is an invaluable resource for breastfeeding moms. He has books you can buy, videos you can watch, and even email your questions.
  • Pastor David, RN may not be the end-all resource on breastfeeding. Or is he? It is so refreshing to see breastfeeding from a male’s perspective, especially a male Labor & Delivery nurse. I highly recommend reading his website, including all of his labor & delivery information. Did you know your pelvic exam could be way less painful? Read his site to find out how!
Leave a Reply

