h1

World Breastfeeding Week • Aug 1-7

July 23, 2009

17266713

I’m not going to do anything spectacular for World Breastfeeding Week, like participating in a nurse-in. Like Cindy Ambrose said about her plans, “for breastfeeding week, I will breastfeed my daughter. The end.” That sounds about right to me!

There are events being planned all over:

There are many, many more events being planned around the world. If you know of one, either email me so I can add it here, or add it in the comments!

In my search for WBW events, I also found a huge wealth of information on ways to celebrate World Breastfeeding Week at the National WIC Association.

Set up a “rock and relax” booth at the state fair with three areas: a changing area with diapers and wipes, an area for breastfeeding education materials and someone to answer questions, and another area with rocking chairs for mothers to breastfeed their babies.

Recognize businesses that accommodate breastfeeding employees or patrons. Give a certificate or send a thank-you note.

Look for companies or communities which may provide low cost banners on World Breastfeeding Week to display in a shopping center or downtown areas.

Give dads a certificate to recognize their support of breastfeeding mothers and infants.

Develop a proclamation for your governor or local mayor to sign, emphasize the importance of Breastfeeding during an emergency.

Honor long time breastfeeding mothers, over 1 and 2 years.

These are all wonderful ideas! I thought about making WBW pins out of nursing pads and selling them for $2 as a fundraiser for our breastfeeding clinic. I don’t know how I would do it though, so if anyone in Calgary is interested in helping with that one contact me!

One comment

  1. I’m not going to be doing anything special, either. Staying home and breastfeeding sounds about right.

    (Actually, I almost wrote ‘breastfeed my daughter’ like you quoted, and then I realized she’s been weaned for a year and half. I will probably breastfeed the current nursling, my son. ;) )



Leave a Reply

