h1

Judgmental World

May 24, 2009

I’m feeling particularly angsty about breastfeeding today. I am participating in the May Carnival of Breastfeeding (from MotherWear.com – the post will be up tomorrow about it, or see my post Breastfeeding Failures and Success). I want to talk more about breastfeeding. Court doesn’t mind me talking about it, although he can’t truly understand when I talk about the pain or about the connection Penny and I have. But I think my family is sick of hearing about it. I think my friends are sick of hearing about it. “So you breastfeed. Just feed Penny and shut up about it.” It’s not that they are judgmental of me breastfeeding. The fact that I do it is not in contention with anyone I know. They just don’t want me to talk about it. And since starting this blog, becoming a lactation consultant has crossed my mind. And taking Penny into the hospital to show new moms in person how to breastfeed has crossed my mind. Going to La Leche League meetings… lots of things.

How do you get involved like that with so many… apathetic people… around you? They’re not supportive, yet not unsupportive. Breastfeeding is natural. Breastfeeding is best for babies. If you choose to formula-feed, that is YOUR DECISION. I’m going to ask you why though. If you don’t want to talk about it, just tell me that. Otherwise, I’m curious to know why, and would like the opportunity to debate your reasons. I’m not an activist, but I am definitely pro-breastfeeding.

I just realized, our health region has so many classes for expectant and new parents. One of them should be on breastfeeding. It would not be forcing breastfeeding on anyone who isn’t interested (because you have to sign up for these things). And nothing replaces actually seeing someone breastfeed. The little dolly they used at our “class” at the hospital was useless. Watching a mother and child actually feeding would really help alot of new moms. They could ask questions without feeling rushed and ignored like in the hospital. They could possibly help reduce the stigma attached to breastfeeding in public, because they’d be exposed to mothers who are willing to sit in a room full of people and openly feed their baby. They could learn how to help prevent sore nipples before it even starts. It could also be a place where women who are undecided about breastfeeding could go to learn more about it and help make their decision. I wonder who I could talk to about this?

Anyway, I’m just going to hang around the house today, with no shirt on. When Penny’s hungry, she can eat – as much as she wants, for as long as she wants, in whatever position she wants. Because that’s the choice I’ve made, and it’s what works for us.

Leave a Reply

