h1

Tupperware and BPA

July 20, 2009

AUTHOR’S NOTE: Due to the large number of comments regarding this topic, I’d like to remind you that Tupperware’s products are all BPA free as of Spring 2010 (ish… I can’t give you an exact date). If you are wondering if your particular product has BPA, please see the post linked in the next paragraph.

UPDATED: I have added a post about specifically which Tupperware products have BPA in them, including pictures. Click here to go find out which products they are!

Everyone has some Tupperware in their cupboards, don’t they? Even if you didn’t buy it yourself, it’s been passed down from your mom. Because it’s THAT GOOD of a product, right? It’s lasted 20 years, and you STILL use it every few days.

But Tupperware has a little known (although not hidden) secret. Tupperware is NOT BPA free.

Now before all you little Tupperware ladies go getting in a flap: Not all Tupperware has BPA in it. Only a couple of lines do. From Tupperware’s website:

Certain Tupperware products are made from polycarbonate, including serving products and Rock ‘N Serve™/Vent ‘N Serve™ storage and microwave reheating containers. However, polycarbonate is NOT used in Tupperware baby bottles or toys.

http://order.tupperware.com/coe/app/tup_widget.show_page?fv_page_code=safety2&fv_section_name=help&fv_category_code=search&fv_item_category_code=200500

And before any of you little Tupperware ladies start bashing me, I sold Tupperware and was considering selling it again after my maternity leave. My grandma sold Tupperware for over 25 years, gave up when she moved across the country, then started again. You’re looking at 30 years worth of Tupperware sales out of her. And my cupboards are still full of Tupperware!

The Canadian government is moving ahead with proposed legislation to ban baby bottles containing BPA, although the use of BPA is not banned yet in any type of commercial use. In the United States, BPA is not banned either, although California is gearing up to be the first state to ban it.

So what this means is that Tupperware is not breaking any regulations. But it is still an issue. Last year a poll by EKOS Research Associates Inc., found that 73% of Canadians want BPA banned from other plastic products in addition to baby bottles. 73% is a pretty overwhelming number! That says that regardless of government regulations, consumers are concerned about the use of BPA.

The bone that I have to pick with Tupperware is its complete lack of regard for what its consumers want. As a retailer, no matter the product, you need to listen to your customers! If you ignore the people who are essentially signing your paycheque, you are resigning yourself to selling an inferior product or service. You are going to lose customers.

So when Rick Goings, CEO of Tupperware Brands Corporation says

“Based on the repeated governmental scrutiny that polycarbonate has undergone by various regulatory agencies, we continue to believe that the material is safe. We will continue to monitor this scientific debate, of course, and keep all of you posted if any new and important information comes to light.”

that says to me that Tupperware and Mr. Goings really don’t care what their customers think. When I share the link to Mr. Goings’ letter, it is meant to highlight Tupperware’s stance. I am not running around yelling “the sky is falling, the sky is falling.” Tupperware contains BPA. So what? So, I don’t want BPA in my food containers. It’s as simple as that. And until they change the makeup of their polycarbonate-based products, I will be showing other people what Tupperware has to say on the subject.

By the way, Tupperware’s microwave-safe products (and not all of them are), are supposed to be nuked on a MEDIUM-LEVEL SETTING to prevent the migration of chemicals from the plastic to the food. It says this right in their product manuals, or at least it did when I was still selling Tupperware.

51 comments

  1. Yes I AM a Tupperware Lady and YES I know we have 3 lines (one that is replacing the old version of it) the lines that CURRENTLY have BPA in them are the Heat & Serve and our Ice Prisms.

    Only 1 of those 2 lines are Microwaveable (heat & serve) yes that one DOES still recommend half power heating for safety levels to prevent any type of chemical leakage (BPA or otherwise)

    My question for you is if you are so completely worried about Tupperware having it in LESS than 1% of their product line why are you NOT concerned about Walmart’s products? Ziplock, Gladware, Rubbermaid, Quick-Snap, Basic Living, Fresh-Vac, Zevro, Preserve & Sterilite.

    These products ALL have BPA in them yet I’m sure you have not taken the time to “shame” those companies, am I right?

    You sometimes have to take the good with the bad… and the BEST way to get them to change is by buying their items that are BPA FREE & if no one is buying the items with BPA in it they will discontinue them and replace them with BPA FREE items…

    An all out ban will do nothing because it is the buyers that control the fate of the product lines my dear… You must realize that or you would not go pointing fingers at JUST the Microwaveable Heat & Serve…


  2. Christina, I believe you missed my point. I am not overly concerned about the fact that Tupperware has BPA in any of its products and openly admits it. What bothers me is that they say (to paraphrase): Tupperware has BPA and we don’t care.

    Personally, Rock n Serve is my favorite line, and I don’t like the Heat n Serves that are replacing them. And to be honest, I don’t care that there is BPA in any of their products. I will still use it – until we get to a point where the government starts banning products with BPA. I will still buy it (from my grandma). But I cannot, in good conscience, sell Tupperware to other people knowing it contains BPA, when they’re telling me they want BPA free. It doesn’t matter if you explain what does contain BPA and what doesn’t, or that you’re supposed to heat on medium. They hear that Tupperware contains BPA. It’s a matter of Tupperware realizing people want BPA-free, and changing to accommodate their customers. They change their colours every season. They bring in new product lines, and phase out old ones. It’s time to get rid of BPA, because that’s what their customers want.

    For the record, I don’t use Rubbermaid, Gladware, Ziplock, etc. for food storage or reheating, so I have no reason to shame those companies.


  3. I don’t know if your aware or not but at one point EVERY line in Tupperware had BPA in it…

    They are working to find ways to replace each line as BPA free slowly as to keep the Tupperware reputation (the product that lasts forever) at this point we are down to 2 lines (approximately 15 products out of approximately 300 including the Fundraiser lines)

    IMPO if someone wants BPA free they have 2 choices… buy organic made plastic (aka corn by product plastic) or to research & buy what does not have BPA…

    People who want BPA free WITHIN the Tupperware lines and WITH the ability to microwave have the options of the Microwave Cereal Bowls, the Vent & Serve line and the Crystal Wave product lines…

    I know your point is the fact that the company is saying well the government says it’s safe so we will use it… BUT they are not completely ignoring the customers… IF they were the entire product line would still contain BPA…

    I personally think if people have an issue with BPA they need to work to get it banned…

    I see it as a tiny drop in the toxic wading pool we live in today, between computers, phones, cell phones, cars, buses, boats, personal care products & so many more than I have time to name…

    But for those passionate about it have many methods to make their thoughts known, petitions, writing to congressmen, senators, mayors, and all our other assigned governmental positions…

    If those passionate about it took the time to make their thoughts know to the greater DC area rather than venting or complaining about it (because as we all know complaining without action does no-one any good) then things would progress towards a banning of BPA and then no company could use it as a filler to their plastics.


  4. Christina

    I will let your comments speak for themselves with the potential Tupperware customers that are finding this post.

    But could I ask for clarification on exactly which lines are NOT BPA free?

    Thanks!
    Nicole


  5. FYI, there is BPA in the vent ‘n serve line,Heat N Serve, Rock N Serve, Ice Prisms line, Microsteamer, Microwave Cooker – Oval, Microwave Luncheon Plate, Quick Chef Base, Sheerly Elegant Line, Tumbler Bouquet and Pitcher Set.
    It is upsetting that almost all of the microwave lines have BPA when it is heat that can cause it’s migration. And I know that Tupperware says to heat on medium, but how many people always do that. I love the idea of the vent ‘n serve line, it could be a great time saver but am wary of actually purchasing it. And this is all coming from a Tupperware lover so I am not bashing it. I do agree that if the company is concerned then they should say they are eliminating Bpa, or trying to rather than acting blase about it and implying BPA is safe.


  6. please see my above comment.


  7. Thank you Mel. I’ve been getting alot of searches coming through my blog because they want to know WHICH products have BPA in them, so your comment is great!


  8. Again, I love Tupperware but I think that everyone who would like the BPA taken out of the pieces that contain it should write a polite note stating that they believe the removal of BPA is important and that they would purchase the microwave products if they were free of BPA to comments@tupperware.com. Remember, you catch more flies with honey so don”t holler at them!


  9. what’s going to really bake your noodle is when you find out that all petroleum based plastics contain and leech some level of EA (estrogenic activity) when exposed to heat and detergent. enjoy.


  10. I recently went to a Tupperware party, and had not been to a party in years. And I had not bought Tupperware products in years too.(I store my left overs in glass containers) Anyways, I’m concerned about BPA and other harmful materials, so I asked the consultant if Tupperware’s products had any of it in there? I found out she lied to me when she said there was no BPA in their products. And then when I checked the main Tupperware site, they admittted some products did have them. Anyways, I don’t like being lied to just to get a sale. I’m posting to the consultants to stand up for intergrity and tell your customers the truth when they ask a question.


  11. Wow, Di, when I read your post I thought I was reading my own words in a time warp machine. I just went to my first Tupperware party in years tonight and asked specifically about BPA and she told me that none of the microwaveable products contain BPA. That lady lied to me too. OMG. I, too, store and microwave only in glass. I thought I could give Tupperware another chance, not now.


  12. After reading everything you said, I am still unsure which of their older products have BPA. I have been getting Tupperware for about the last
    40 years or more. I still have a hugh supply with a lot of it stored that I haven’t used for a long time. How do I know what has BPA?


  13. I agree with your post and your opinion about Tupperware. I feel that they are turning their noses at the research that has come out in regards to BPA. To say that they (paraphrasing) “feel it’s safe” is a complete lie in my opinion. I’m pretty sure that they know deep down that it’s NOT safe, they just haven’t come up with an alternative chemical that will allow them to continue making their products, with the same result.

    I LOVE tupperware, and have fond memories of growing up with the stuff. But until they can show their customers that they care enough to eliminate even QUESTIONABLE chemicals from their products, I cannot, and will not support the company.


  14. I feel since tupperware commands such a high price compared to those products sold in Walmart and other places that they SHOULD be SAFE but they are not and tupperware is more worried about sales than being truthful to their customers. Tupperware always claimed that their products were and are so safe when they have the same bad chemicals as the other guys. They should fess up and say hey we are wrong. Heck they won’t even take my old products that have lost the sealing power and will not get clean no matter how much I wash them. So much for their lifetime guarantee. I buy glass for everything except freezer storage and since tupperware isn’t that much safer I won’t use it for that either.


  15. Hi i was told that tupperware is bpa free so i joined up or is that just australia.


  16. What about the really old tupperware? I have some plastic glasses that are stackable and varying see-through colors… stuff like that… how do we know about the items that are eons old?


  17. People should move away from ALL plastic, whether it’s BPA or BPA free!!!!!! Stop. Using. Plastic. Altogether!!!!!

    We all know the problems and issues with BPA, but the problem with BPA free plastics is that no one has actually done enough research to find out whether that is, in fact, 100% safe or even any better than BPA free plastics. So just because you’re buying some plastic that’s BPA free – don’t go feeling all warm-n-fuzzy or comfortable that it’s absolutely 100% safe!!!!!

    Use glass, stainless steel, or similar and say NO TO ALL PLASTIC!!!!!

    And people that go around waiting for the Government to ban something, or for the Govt to say that something’s bad for us, or causes cancer, or we shouldn’t use it … COME ON PEOPLE – WAKE UP!!!!! Look at cigarettes. Have they been banned yet???? We know they cause cancers and all kinds of illnesses and the Government continues to make them legal, available, receiving HEAPS of revenue from their sale (tax) and does nothing to ban them!!!! What about alcohol? And there are (prescription) drugs being sold in Australia that have been banned in other countries – why aren’t we concerned about that???? There are drugs that have been banned here (Australia) but are still sold in other countries – why aren’t their Government’s doing anything about that??? DO YOU REALLY WANT TO LEAVE YOUR LIFE AND HEALTH UP TO OUR GOVERNMENTS – Read the full scientific and medical reports on BPA people and start making informed decisions for yourselves and your families, especially your kids!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


  18. Found this post really late. But thanks for posting what has BPA in it. I’m going through my cuboards and some of my tupperware is now on its way to the goodwill. My beef with the whole thing is they don’t put the plastic type on there so I had to spend a bunch of time figuring out whether I could keep my tupperware. Consumers have a right to decide what types of plastic they wish to avoid, those symbols aren’t just about recycling anymore. If Tupperware feels it’s safe that’s fine, but let us know what we are buying.


  19. Hi Kylie. I’m not sure if that is just Australia or not. I know the North American versions are working on being BPA free. I tried finding information on the Tupperware Australia website, but it eventually directed me to the American website. I would assume this means that Australians also have BPA in the same products I have listed at Which Tupperware Products Have BPA In Them?.


  20. Hi Kathy. Did you see my post about Which Tupperware Products Have BPA In Them? I think I have listed all of the products, new or old, which contain BPA. There are also pictures of the products so you can compare to what you have at home.


  21. Hi Susan. I was just reading about this on the Tupperware website. Because they intended their products to last a lifetime they never put any recycling information on the bottom (which classifies the plastic type). Now that recycling has become a hot topic, they are starting to add recycling symbols to their products.


  22. Just wanted to clarify something for those who think glass and stainless steel are safe alternatives to plastic.

    I, too, am a Tupperware consultant. No, I am not a fan of using the microwave. Period. If people want to buy microwave products, that is up to them, but I do not overly glorify those products due to the current issues. My big concern is not just with the material used for food storage (plastic, glass, etc.) but also with the microwave itself. But that’s another post entirely….

    If you do the research, a lot of glass produced today contains small amounts of lead and/or other byproducts, which also tend to leech when heated in the microwave and dishwasher numerous times. This is true for a lot of ceramics as well! On top of it, you have to be VERY careful about which stainless steel products you use. Many water bottles claiming to be safe are stainless steel on the outside — and aluminum-coated on the inside! This, too, leeches…and has been linked to all kinds of mental and physical disorders from Alzeimer’s to Fibromyalgia to Multiple Sclerosis, etc. Therefore, this idea translates to a lot of metal stovetop cookware as well.

    I don’t mean to be Debbie Downer here, but in this day and age, it is nearly impossible to find the “perfect” storage/cooking container.

    However, at the end of the day, my recommendation would be first and foremost to limit the use of the microwave as much as possible.

    One other thing to note: although I have never been a fan of using the microwave, these plastic products (yes, even those with BPA, (and again, I am very much against big Pharmaceutical companies and harmful chemicals)) the real harm comes from heating and reheating these containers *at an extremely high temperature for extended periods of time*. Most of us tend to simply reheat food for a minute or two, or even just a few seconds (ie. milk in a baby bottle). This is not going to trigger the plastic to automatically start leeching. You would have to cook the heck out of the container at a high heat for an hour or two plus to start breaking down the plastic. Since this is not something we do, the plastics are relatively safe. But, because it’s a possibility given the extreme conditions, someone, somewhere, got their knickers in a twist and cried out. Most people are not fully informed as to what it would really take, and need to inform themselves further before spending nights lying awake worrying about their baby bottles. I instead choose to lie awake worrying about what is really put into our foods and baby formulas. Again, another post…

    Finally, I just wanted to add that most of Tupperware’s plastics are comprised of level 2 and 3 (high and low-density polyethylene) and level 5 (polypropylene), which are deemed to be the safest types of plastics because they typically, under normal use, do not break down. It is true, however, that the Tupperware microwave lines *designed specifically for the microwave* are comprised of level 7 plastic, which can break down after an extended period of time (again, at extreme temperatures for extended periods of time). However, the reasoning behind this is that this type of plastic is tougher and more heat-resistant than other levels and will not pit or absorb foods when used as recommended in the microwave like previous plastics used to do.

    Plastic wrap and plastic water bottles bought in packs at the store are a level 1, which is a nasty little potpourri of plastic leftovers (hmmm…just like fruit bars — made up of junk leftovers of fruits etc. from the bottom of the barrels at the factories) and are meant for one-time use only.

    These are the plastics that, when left out in the sun (ie. a dashboard of a car) or exposed to heat (ie. plastic wrap on your food in the microwave) start to break down pretty much right away. Food for thought. Or, in this case, bad plastic for thought.


  23. Thank you I found this very helpfull I’m going to stick to Pyrix


  24. Di and Linda i would like to defend you tupperware rep in the hope that they are in the same boaty as me, i was told when i joined tupperware that all their products were bpa free and made from water based plastics not petrolium by products so it may not be that they were lyying to you but that they were ill informed as i was and didn’t think to question it, the only reason i have just found this out is because i was doing some research on plastics that i came along all this information. But i hear you it is definitly not good enough and i am going to call all my customers that have bought products containing bpa tomorrow and let them know that i am sorry for mis informing them as that was not my intention


  25. Wow, what comments. I am a Tupperare consultant. I have to say, as previously noted, there are Tupperware products with BPA- usually the harder plastic- used, yes, for the microwave. They are meant for… reheating, not cooking. You don’t need 100% power to reheat. ANY plastic, when heated enough, is going to break down, peel or melt. It’s PLASTIC! Tupperware does not hide that it has BPA in some of it’s products. In fact, when the outrage over BPA came out, Tupperware educated it’s consultants so we can better inform you. I appreciate that Tupperware stays up on the studies… which so far, show BPA to be safe, when used properly. If you don’t like BPA, don’t buy that product line. There is much more Tupperware without BPA than there is with BPA. Crystal Wave is made for the microwave, and is BPA free. Of course, it will stain easier, so you choose- BPA or stains?? No matter what Tupperware does, no matter what any company does, someone will complain. It’s simple, if you don’t like it, don’t buy it. Just don’t stop everyone else from being able to. I wonder if everyone worries as much about their drinking water? Do you realize how many contaminents and drugs- prescription and otherwise, wind up in our drinking water?? And, as of yet, they have no way to remove these things…so you are drinking someones expired codeine, morphine, tylenol, motrin, aspirin, heart medicine, thyroid medicine, diabetes medicine, cancer medicine, etc, etc. Do you realize that the food industry can have up to a cetain amount of bug, rodent, etc. parts in our packaged food?? How does ground up cockroach or rat sound to you?? Nothing is perfect, nothing in sterile. We need to fight the big things and if there is time left over, fight the other things too. Hmmmm…mouse for thought…


  26. All very good points! Thanks for contributing concise, constructive feedback into this issue.


  27. Keep in mind that “Tupperware” didn’t tell you all their products were BPA free. Your manager, or your distributor, or another rep told you. There are so many people in the Tupperware salesforce, and so little information coming directly to you from them. Everything is filtered down from the top. The information I have on here is all directly from their website.

    From now on, when someone asks you about Tupperware and BPA, you can tell them that all new products from here on out are BPA free. There are some past product lines that contain it, and they can find out more information on Tupperware’s website. Or you can print off a copy of my other post at http://grudgemom.wordpress.com/2009/09/04/which-tupperware-products-have-bpa-in-them/ to keep in your kit for when customers ask specifically which lines contain BPA.


  28. When in doubt, opt out.

    Use products that don’t have BPA in them. The Sistema brand of plastic containers. sold in the UK, New Zealand and Australia, is BPA free. It is just as good as Tupperware, and a whole lot cheaper.

    There are many other brands as well. I’ve sold off all my Tupperware secondhand, and moved to glass jars with rubber seals, and non BPA plastic containers.


  29. I never sold tupperware but I have litterally hundreds of their products as I have always loved the products and especially the lifetime warranties. I did however stop buying it many years ago as I noticed that when I stored foods in it long term, they took on a plastic smell and sometimes even tasted like plastic but I never knew why, as I had never herd of BPA. Since it is so very expensive, I cannot just afford to go out and replace it all. I now use glass jars for long term storage and continue to use the tupperware for short term use only. Eventually it will all be replaced.
    I think that the main reason people like me are asking about tupperware products verses other plactics is because 1) tupperware is the most well known line 2)it is the most expensive to replace 3) it is the only company with a lifetime warranty which is why we all buy it.
    My question is, will they replace or credit my leaching plastic containers that are ruining my foods and causing them to taste bad? It is obvious when the lid is removed that it has a very strong plastic smell.
    I am not surprised at all by tupperware’s stand on the issue but extremely disappointed by the total neglect. At the same time, if they publically announced the hazzard, everyone would be trying to replace their products and the coming would loose a lot of money.


  30. thanks for this info. i have been complaining about foods from my t ware ‘tasting off’ and have wondered if there was a connection. still not sure about that. however, your article has convinced me to get rid of it all. i like my canister set and the sugar and flour seem ok, but, still it bothers me. i’d rather find a safer substitute. thanks


  31. To black monkona- I am a tupperware consultant and I can tell you that there are no safer products…all products have a flaw in them somewhere. Glass contains lead, stainless steel products normally are stainless steel on the outside and aluminum on the inside. Cermaic everything has lead in it and most plastic has BPA in it unless it says bpa free. Not too many items are bpa free yet. So if you are going to get rid of all your tupperware just know that only two lines do contain BPA and Tupperware was honest with you from the start about those two lines. Read the instructions and it will tell you how to use it to prevent the leeching of any harmful chemicals. Medium heat in your microwave which is 50% does not get the tupperware hot enough to let anything leech. Thus if you do it at 50% everytime you should be safe. However any concerns you have just call tupperware and if you have something from an older line call and see about getting it replaced. Your canisters that you love are for a fact 100% BPA Free. I use them and so I checked, most other canisters you find will also not be air tight or liquid tight.


  32. Hello, can someone tell me about tuperware modula mates? Mine are nearly 13 years old. Tuperware directed me to a page that details what is in the plastic by a number……are they safe or not? Looking forward to some input. Thank you


  33. Modular Mates do not contain BPA.


  34. My mom sold tupperware back in the 60’s when I was in H.S. Subsequently I bought a lot of it for my future use. I have all of the pieces still, but I am concerned about BPA being in all of the pieces that I have stored and reheated food for my family in. I see that the plastic has “melted: along the insides of bowls ect. when foods have been reheated in the microwave. I am afraid that I have been poisoning my family for years and I am planning on throwing it all out as I no longer feel I can use it with confidence.


  35. I’m impatient, sorry; can you just tell us what plastic containers on the market today are safe…for instance, ice cube trays?


  36. All products available in the catalogues now are BPA free.


  37. Tupperware follows the recommendations and guidelines of governmental regulatory agencies regarding materials that may be used in our high quality products. The Company also acknowledges the attitudes of consumers regarding products containing BPA. In its continuous search for the best materials for use in its products, Tupperware has found other materials with improved performance characteristics that have been approved by regulators to be BPA free to replace polycarbonate. As of March 2010, items sold by Tupperware US & CA are BPA free.


  38. Thanks for the input Katrina. I originally wrote this post back in 2009 when Tupperware was not acknowledging consumer concerns about BPA. I have noted that the entire current product lineup is BPA-free, but still get asked VERY regularly about it.


  39. Dear Friends, Some Tupperware products in India down here do not have a number, Why is tupperware doing like this?


  40. Ladies, it is now 2012, and a lot has changed. If you went to a Tupperware party in March 2010, you were not being lied to by the dealers. Tupperware did listen, and everything sold from March 2010 to now in the US and Canada contains no BPA. If you have older products and don’t want to use them in the microwave, you can still use them in the refrigerator–that’s what I do. Or you can get rid of them. Be careful to keep up with the latest changes in products and laws.–Concerned Grandma, Not A Dealer


  41. I have read most of the post here and to go back to 2009, yes the BPA was there but if you had researched a little further you would have found that Tupperware only used 1/1000th of what the FDA approved to be safe! Also, with a little more research you would have also found that Good Housekeeping tested Tupperware’s microwavable products and found after 1000’s of uses in the microwave NO BPA’S WERE FOUND! In the foods or the products! Amazing what a little research will find!

    ALL lines of Tupperware is now BPA FREE!


  42. This is the Good Housekeeping research I was speaking of. I would think twice before I put Rubbermaid, Glad Ware, Glad Wrap or any other plastic in the microwave. I would also learn to use the power setting button, it is there for a reason.

    I found this in another blog, but if you go to Good Housekeeping and search their archive section on BPA’s you will find this!

    Good Housekeeping research.

    How We Did Our Testing

    We all do it: Pop a plate of leftovers covered with plastic wrap in the microwave or warm up extra tomato sauce in a plastic container. But news reports have suggested that this may not be perfectly safe, that if there are chemicals — phthalates and BPA — in the plastic, they might migrate into our food. How likely is this? To find out, we shopped at supermarkets and mass merchandisers for leading brands of microwave-safe containers, wraps, and bags, and at a dollar store for some so-called value brands. We also tossed into our shopping cart packages of best-selling frozen dinners for both children and adults and plastic liners designed to be used in a slow cooker. In short, we gathered together a potpourri of the kind of plastic items most of us use for heating foods.

    We shipped several samples of each item off to an independent lab, where they were shredded into bits, then analyzed to see if any detectable amounts of BPA and phthalates were present in the products. The good news: Twenty-seven of the products tested contained no phthalates or BPA. Three, however, did contain low levels of BPA: the containers (or bottom sections) of Rubbermaid Easy Find Lids, Rubbermaid Premier containers, and Glad Storage Zipper Bags; Glad Press’n Seal wrap had low levels of both phthalates and BPA. Next, the lab tested these four items with “food simulants” — chemicals designed to stand in for real food in a lab. (Our federal health agencies, like the FDA, allow the use of food simulants in testing.) Results: No detectable BPA or phthalates migrated from the products into the simulants.

    For a real-life test, we microwaved Old World Style Ragú Traditional Smooth Pasta Sauce and Heinz Home Style Gravy Savory Beef in the two Rubbermaid containers and in a glass bowl covered with Press’n Seal. As you’re unlikely to heat up tomato sauce or gravy in a plastic bag, we eliminated the Glad Storage Zipper Bags from this part of the testing. The lab first evaluated the foods straight from the jars to ensure that there were no phthalates or BPA present in the sauces before they were transferred to the test containers. In addition to testing foods heated in brand-new containers, we used ones that we had put through 30 rounds of microwaving and cleaning in the dishwasher, to see if wear and tear made a difference.

    Clearly good news: None of the samples of sauce or gravy had detectable levels of either BPA or phthalates.

    Products tested that contained no phthalates or BPA:

    Tupperware CrystalWave container
    Tupperware CrystalWave lid
    Tupperware Rock ‘N Serve container
    Tupperware Rock ‘N Serve lid
    Rubbermaid EasyFind Lids lid
    Rubbermaid Premier lid
    Glad SimplyCooking Microwave Steaming Bags
    Ziploc Brand Zip ‘n Steam Microwave Steam Cooking Bags
    GladWare Containers with Interlocking Lids container
    GladWare Containers with Interlocking Lids lid
    Ziploc Brand Containers with Snap ‘N Seal Lids container
    Ziploc Brand Containers with Snap ‘N Seal Lids lid
    Webster Industries Good Sense storage container
    Webster Industries Good Sense storage container lid
    United Plastics 21 oz Bowl
    Saran Premium wrap
    Saran Cling Plus Clear Plastic Wrap
    Glad Cling Wrap Clear Plastic Wrap
    Reynolds Clear Seal-Tight Plastic Wrap
    Ziploc Brand Storage Bags with Double Zipper
    Ziploc Brand Freezer Bags with Double Zipper
    Glad Freezer Storage Bags
    Reynolds SlowCooker Liners
    Kid Cuisine All Star Chicken Breast Nuggets container
    Kid Cuisine All Star Chicken Breast Nuggets film cover
    Stouffer’s frozen Homestyle Classics Lasagna with Meat & Sauce tray
    Stouffer’s frozen Homestyle Classics Lasagna with Meat & Sauce film covering

    The following items contained low levels of phthalates or PBA but the chemicals did not leach into food during microwave heating:

    Rubbermaid EasyFind Lids container
    Rubbermaid Premier container
    Glad Press’n Seal Multipurpose Sealing Wrap
    Glad Food Storage Bags*

    *Tested with simulants but not food.

    Read more: Dangers of Heating Food in Plastic – Microwave Health Risks – Bisphenol A – Good Housekeeping


  43. First of all, this post was written in 2009 when Tupperware was NOT BPA free. Secondly, the point of this was that I did not approve of the company’s attitude toward BPA, not whether the chemical was actually in the product or not.


  44. I never said Tupperware was lying to it’s customers. I was mad about their attitude toward BPA. They just didn’t seem to care that customers were pushing for BPA products.


  45. The list of products containing BPA can be found here: Which Tupperware Products Have BPA in Them?


  46. All plastics used in the microwave are probably leaching some chemicals into your food. Tupperware is not alone in this. All of the companies do the best they can to reduce this risk, but it is not 100% foolproof. If you are unsure, use glass/ceramic/porcelain etc that are microwave safe. Also remember that Tupperware should only be heated at half power in the microwave, not full power.


  47. What’s up colleagues, good article and fastidious arguments commented at this place, I am actually enjoying by these.


  48. Folks, we have to remember that Tupperware products that are made now are all BPA free. Tupperware that is made BEFORE March 2010 should be replaced with non-BPA Tupperware. Not all products made prior to 2010 carried BPA. If you purchase your products from a Tupperware Rep, it’s always BEST to ask if they are purchasing this item from the current warehouse or is this item from their personal stock? If it is from their personal stock, I’d ask what the original purchase date was. Distributors will tend to stock up on items and they may be made prior to 2010. I do not stock up on my purchases specifically for this reason and I like to make sure I have this year’s colors. As for the price, you are paying for the Lifetime warranty that is on most items. If you purchase your Tupperware items on sale, it is very affordable.


  49. I have a question for you. I have a lot of Tupperware container before 2010. Can I take it to the store and exchange it for the newest one w/ BPA free ? How do I know which one BPA free when I compare them ? Thank you.


  50. Okay, so I am one of the little old ladies, my pantry looks great because everything has been transferred to the plastic square things sold for that purpose-I have orange and blue lids but all was bought decades before 2010-do I need to toss it? Hard to say from comments here. Also the bright colored tumblers and sippy cups?


  51. Debby, you’re ok for both.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 492 other followers

